Tags

, , ,

I did not think I was going to a race this summer, but my Mom came to my rescue. She knew I was stressed and I needed to get away. Since the Michigan race had passed, we were heading to Chicago! I did not get much sleep the night before, the only track I’d been to was Michigan International Speedway, so I was geeked!
When we arrived, I was ready to cheer on Jeremy and hear the roar of the engines go around the track! Of course, I had to wait. During the wait, my Mom got me a cool hat and I got to meet Jeremy! I enjoyed my visit with him and this made me even more anxious for the race to start!
It was finally time for the green flag as the sun was setting. My heart was beating fast from the adrenaline running through my body. My Mom started to put my earplugs on me, “No, not yet!” My Mom chuckled and said, “You’re crazy! You are going to lose your hearing!” I smiled with a smirk and said, “Just during the restarts, deal?” “Deal.” This race had everything anyone could have asked for. The 51 team had pit problems that night, but at one point was up to third! The funny thing was I had trouble seeing this. My Mom said, “Look at the scoreboard, Jeremy is third!” “What?!” My body extended, trying my best to turn my wheelchair by myself while being excited. Not an easy task for me at all. My Mom laughing at me, then turns me around to make sure my butt was not going to be on the ground! ๐Ÿ™‚ “GO JUG GO!”
At the end of the race, I was surprised I didn’t lose my voice from all the yelling I was doing! ๐Ÿ™‚ Jeremy finished 13th and I was exhausted! I thought to myself, if only I could attend a race everyday, it would be awesome way for me to get my workout! ๐Ÿ™‚
When I got home, I saw this on Twitter:
Jeremy Clements @JClements51 ยท Jul 19

P13 proud of our finish tonight! We fought hard all night and do a lot with very little. Hopefully we can keep it up and land a big sponsor!
Also appreciate everyone’s comments! Makes me smile reading all them! Thank u for your support!

No problem, Jug! Thanks for the memories! โคJeremy and I